Book Review: Part of Your World by Abby Jimenez

Part of your world book cover surrounded by a starry globe, a stack of blue books, a blue candle, and a purple quilt

cover236149-mediumTitle: Part of Your World
Author: Abby Jimenez
Genre: Romance
Date of Publication: April 19, 2022
Publisher: Forever


Synopsis

The New York Times bestselling author of Life’s Too Short delivers a refreshingly modern fairy tale perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Emily Henry.

After a wild bet, gourmet grilled-cheese sandwich, and cuddle with a baby goat, Alexis Montgomery has had her world turned upside down. The cause: Daniel Grant, a ridiculously hot carpenter who’s ten years younger than her and as casual as they come—the complete opposite of sophisticated city-girl Alexis. And yet their chemistry is undeniable.

While her ultra-wealthy parents want her to carry on the family legacy of world-renowned surgeons, Alexis doesn’t need glory or fame. She’s fine with being a “mere” ER doctor. And every minute she spends with Daniel and the tight-knit town where he lives, she’s discovering just what’s really important. Yet letting their relationship become anything more than a short-term fling would mean turning her back on her family and giving up the opportunity to help thousands of people.

Bringing Daniel into her world is impossible, and yet she can’t just give up the joy she’s found with him either. With so many differences between them, how can Alexis possibly choose between her world and his?

Goodreads

My Thoughts

Abby Jimenez delivers yet another amazing romance novel–one that just might be her best yet! 

Alexis Montgomery is on her way home from a funeral when her car breaks down just outside of a small town. When a handsome local offers to tow her out, one thing leads to another, and they spend the night together. The morning after, Alexis realizes that this man is almost ten years younger than her, and she panics, returning to the city, fully intending to leave this encounter in her past. But forgetting the sweet, generous, and handsome Daniel is easier said than done. 

Alexis and Daniel both come from completely different worlds. Alexis comes from a family legacy of doctors, and the fact that she’s only an ER doctor has made her a disappointment in her parents’ eyes. The hospital has always had a Montgomery on staff, and now that her parents have retired and her brother has moved away, the mantle of being the celebrity doctor falls to her. Daniel lives in a small town and runs the B&B that’s been in his generation for 150 years. He’s in danger of losing it, and he’s working extra hard to keep it in the family. While their lives and upbringings are very different, there are several parallels that are cleverly thought out. For instance, Daniel is dedicated to maintaining his family legacy, and so is Alexis, but she’s doing it out of obligation, and he’s doing it out of love.

This book is so funny and sweet. There are so many parts that are downright hilarious, from the situational humour to the lines that certain characters come up with. While Alexis may be nine years older than Daniel, he’s the one that has his life and his priorities in the right order, and Alexis has a lot of growing up to do.  In true Abby Jimenez fashion, this book has a fair bit of angst, which makes the star-crossed lovers’ happy ending seem unattainable at first, making the resolution even more satisfying. 

I recommend this book to anyone who loves an angsty rom com, and other fans of Jimenez will definitely want to read this the instant it’s released!

Part of your world book cover surrounded by a starry globe, a stack of blue books, a blue candle, and a purple quilt

*Thank you to Netgalley, the author, and the publisher for the ebook to review*

Five stars

Find the book:

Goodreads | Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s